Legislative Wrap-Up

posted in: Legislation & Regulation | 0
clip_image002 clip_image004

2017 Legislative Update

April 4, 2017

2017 Spring Session Now Over!

Mississippi’s 2017 Legislative Session is now in the history books – and MASI is pleased to report that all legislation presenting a threat to our members is now dead until next year.

We are grateful to our leaders in the House and the Senate, especially House Insurance Committee Chairman Gary Chism and Senate Insurance Committee Chairman Videt Carmichael for their diligence in safeguarding our members and fighting off attempts to dismantle progress made over the years that would bog down our industry with excess regulation.

MASI Helps to Preserve Workers’ Comp Second Injury Fund

clip_image006MASI joined hands with the MS Workers’ Comp Commission to safeguard Mississippi’s Workers’ Comp Second Injury Fund. During the last week of the Spring Legislative Session, this special fund was restored to the control of the MS Workers’ Compensation Commission.

We are grateful to have had the opportunity to work with Beth Aldridge, MWCC Commissioner, Senate Appropriations Chairman Buck Clarke of Hollandale, and House Appropriations Chairman John Reed to get the trust fund restored.

This fund, which pays perm/total claims resulting from second injuries, had been swept into the General Fund last year by legislation to consolidate agency accounts. Two bills were passed concurrently to correct this dilemma: SB2625 and HB887.


Senate Confirms Hon. Mark Formby as New MWCC Chairman

clip_image008MASI congratulates the Hon. Mark Formby who was confirmed by the Mississippi Senate during the closing days of the session to be the next Chairman of the MS Workers’ Comp Commission. Rep. Formby was appointed by Governor Phil Bryant to replace the Hon. Liles Williams, who will soon retire after serving honorably in this position for 12 years.

Representative Formby was born August 16, 1956 in Starkville and is married to the former Rita Gaidamovics and is the father of two children. He is of the Baptist faith. He is a graduate of Pearl River Community College and Mississippi State University, and has represented Pearl River County in the MS House of Representatives since 1993. He has served in numerous leadership positions, including Chairman of Insurance for several years. He was one of the primary leaders in helping MASI pass Mississippi’s Historic Workers’ Comp Reform bill in 2012. Representative Formby is a longtime realtor in Picayune, and is affiliated with the Jaycees, Kiwanis, D.U., Picayune Bass Club, Epsilon Iota Chapter of Alpha Phi Omega and A.L.E.C. He is also the former Legislative Assistant to US Senator Trent Lott.

MASI looks forward to working with Chairman Formby in this exciting new role!


Workplace Wellness Tax Credit Fails to Gain Senate’s Support

clip_image010Mississippi’s Workplace Wellness Tax Credit is now dead. In spite of passing the House of Representatives by an overwhelming majority, HB1616 failed to get the support of Lt. Governor Tate Reeves, spelling its demise in the Senate.

MASI appreciates the support of Mississippi’s leadership: Governor Phil Bryant, Insurance Commissioner Mike Chaney, and Speaker Philip Gunn. We also appreciate the support of House Ways and Means Chairman, Jeff Smith of Columbus, whose tireless support for this progressive initiative has meant so much. Many of our members made appeals to the Senate and to the Lt. Governor to pass this bill, and for this we are grateful. Perhaps in the future, our work will finally bear results.

The Mississippi Association of Self-Insurers, MASI, is committed to representing the interests of the self-insured workers’ comp and health community by promoting knowledge and providing advocacy in legislative and regulatory arenas. We are pleased to report on this year’s legislative session. If you have specific questions, please contact us!

For information on specific bills, or to view the Legislative Webpage, click here.

As always, thank you for your support of MASI!


Dan M. Gibson, Executive Director

Mississippi Association of Self-Insurers

825 N. President Street

Jackson, Mississippi  39202